Life Changing Crackers

IMG_0060

It’s January in Ontario and like everyone else I vow to eat properly, exercise lots, stay away from sugar and alcohol and do it all indoors until April. But I never make entirely unrealistic promises to myself! I struggle because it’s winter, it’s cold and my natural Canadian instincts tell me it’s time to beef up against the elements. I need hearty, healthy meals and snacks that won’t be too hard to burn off before summer! During my search I found these tasty little bites: The Life Changing Cracker from My New Roots.

My curiosity was peaked by an ingredient in these crackers I’d never heard of called Psyllium Husk, also used in My New Roots Life Changing Loaf of Bread recipe (which I have also tried and enjoyed). Psyllium is the binding agent in these recipes and has many health benefits including promoting regularity and helping with managing cholesterol levels. Perfect!

The crackers are quick and easy to make and worth the little effort. Like most recipes you simply mix the dry ingredients together and the wet ingredients together and then combine the two.

IMG_0047

My only complaint with this recipe is that I tend to want to whip them up quickly and forget that there is a minimum two hour wait time after you roll out the seed dough which I find a little messy to do. Hmph grumble grumble.

IMG_0055

But I do find them delicious and I feel good when I eat them. I like mine with a little honey. How do you like your Life Changing Crackers?

Leave a Reply

