The Red Queen – Book Review

f0504e2b60adec69067bcd897cdd3876

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart …

My thoughts- I’m conflicted. I liked this book. It has a captivating storyline. It is entertaining and well written. I didn’t find it overly predictable, though I had my suspicions as to what was going to happen early on, it wasn’t blatantly obvious. The author did a good job of keeping the reader guessing and following along.

You will love it if you are a fan of Harry Potter, Divergent and the Hunger Games because it feels like you’re reading all of them rolled into one. I have to say I was a little let down early on when I felt like I was having a book deja-vu but I won’t sit here and just draw lines of similarity throughout this review if I can help it. There are too many. Another teenage female, a tough poor girl from the village of S*&% finds herself suddenly “special” and she has to be strong for everyone blah blah blah.

Then you had the evil stepmother queen, the social class divide, the jealous pretty girl, the boy best friend from the sticks etc. etc. Oops I said I wasn’t going to do that.

While the whole blood separation was an interesting twist I didn’t find Mare, the protagonist, to be a very interesting or believable character. There were secondary characters in the book who were far more interesting like Cal the prince who made it all happen in the first place. Even the bad guy Maven was more believable in his part.

I was confused over the whole war thing too. If the Silvers were so special with their super-powers why didn’t they just go in and end it?

Thanks to the riveting ending I’m hooked enough to keep reading the series. I guess I was just hoping for something new.

Why I recommend the book – Because it is young adult fantasy fiction and I am not a young adult. This book is keeping up with it’s intended audience and they probably love it right down to the little love triangle. It works for teenagers or for an adult that just wants to have a light fun read.

About the Author – Victoria Aveyard is an young adult and fantasy writer from United States. She is known for her fantasy work Red Queen, which is going to be adapted into a movie. Aveyard wrote the novel a year after graduating from University of Southern California‘s screenwriting program in 2012. Sony Pictures teamed up with her to write spec Eternal
She tries her best to combine her love of history, explosions, and butt-kicking heroines in her writing. Her hobbies include the impossible task of predicting what happens next in A Song of Ice and Fire, road trips, and burning through Netflix.

http://victoriaaveyard.blogspot.in/

https://twitter.com/VictoriaAveyard?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Eauthor

https://www.facebook.com/victoriaaveyard

Leave a Reply

