Easy Peasey Carrot Ginger Soup

soup

This past weekend I found myself down and out with a bit of a cold which rarely happens to me. I had not much of an appetite and besides a few basics an almost empty fridge. But even with my few food ingredients I knew I should eat something. Copious amounts of green tea with lemon and ginger is my drug of choice but it wasn’t filling the void.

I wanted something nourishing if I had to eat it. Something that would warm my insides and make me feel like I was doing something great to heal myself. I opened the fridge door (again) and looked inside (again) and there staring back at me was a mostly forgotten half bag of carrots and an onion. Ok we are on our way! After a little more investigating in the kitchen I found I had garlic and ginger – no shock there I usually always have them around – and about 1/2 a 900ml carton of veg stock.

image

The beautiful thing about a soup like this is you really can’t mess it up. I was planning on throwing in a couple pinches of curry spice but forgot. This recipe is for a small batch of soup.

Ingredients – 2 toes of garlic, 1 small node of ginger, 1/2 of a yellow onion, 9ooml of vegetable stock, 5 or 6 carrots, 1 tbsp of your favourite cooking oil, salt&pepper

Recipe – First you finely chop one or two toes of garlic. If you like garlic a lot then two or more will make you happy. Finely chop half an onion and again finely chop as much ginger as you like or can handle. I probably added about the same amount of ginger as I did garlic.

In a medium size pot over med-high heat add about one tablespoon of olive oil, coconut oil or whatever your favourite oil is and sautee the garlic, ginger and onion until they are browning and by now your kitchen smells delicious!

Pour in your vegetable stock (chicken or beef will work as well). I added about a cup and a half of water to this as well since I was shy in the stock department or else I would have used the whole carton. Let this start to heat up and boil. Meanwhile shred and chop your carrots. I used 5 whole carrots.

When your broth is boiling throw in the carrots and let the liquid get back to boiling again. Then turn down the temp and let the soup simmer away for about 45 min with a lid on it. Throw in a little salt and pepper if you like.

When your carrots are soft take the soup off the heat.

This is the only thing that sucks about the soup is now it needs to be blended. So let the soup cool and blend it. If you have a full size blender you are lucky. I have a magic bullet so I used that to fill three of the cups with lids to put in the fridge.

So there you have it. Easy Peasy Carrot Soup. It’s healthy, hearty and warming and it’s a fantastic colour too!

One thought on “Easy Peasey Carrot Ginger Soup

Leave a Reply

