Trapunto – a Punchy Little Sewing Technique

 

BEST (1)

Oh Trapunto! You little devil making a clothing comeback! I’m seeing trapunto stitching on some ready to wear these days and I like it!

I call it a punchy stitch technique because I just love saying the word. It packs a little punch don’t you think? It makes me want to say it with a deep voice, a hard pun and elongated ooooooo. You know? TraPUNtoooooo!

Trapunto is actually a dowdy little quilting technique. I can’t stand it there. I don’t get quilting to be honest with you. A quilting project takes hours and hours of time and the effect is beautiful but you can’t wear it.

You can however wear a trapunto stitched garment. This technique I love. It’s very simple but adds a nice touch to an otherwise plain garment. Most of the trapunto stitching I’ve seen on garments are just straight rows of evenly spaced straight stitch.

DSC_1432

I recently made a copy of a Vera Wang bridesmaids dress for a pregnant gal. It’s this dress below only made in blush pink and designed with a little more room for the baby bump! Pictured above is the belt from that dress.

02c86299-450b-4a30-b597-2afd14de53c8

Gorgeous dress. And the belt? Trapunto style stitching! It just adds that extra bit of flair to an otherwise simple silhouette.

 

Trapunto

 

Trapunto, from the Italian for “to quilt,” is a method of quilting that is also called “stuffed technique.” A puffy, decorative feature, trapunto utilizes at least two layers, the underside of which is slit and padded, producing a raised surface on the quilt.

 

I didn’t stuff the belt or pad it. I simply folded the satin 4 times and stitched 10 even lines through the fabric. The thickness of the layered fabric gave it the little bit of puffiness it needed. Vera Wang may have padded theirs with a thin batting or something which is another option.

IMG_2492

Here’s a Joe Fresh dress I bought last year that has the same sort of stitching around the neck opening.

Two more good examples of trapunto stitching on denim.

Do you have any great examples of trapunto stitching on garments?? I’d love to see them!

One thought on “Trapunto – a Punchy Little Sewing Technique

Leave a Reply

